Books by Rachel Manija Brown

Rachel Manija Brown is Lia Silver’s real name. Click here to learn more about her.

Stranger (The Change #1)

Many generations ago, a mysterious cataclysm struck the world. Governments collapsed and people scattered, to rebuild where they could. A mutation, “the Change,” arose, granting some people unique powers. Though the area once called Los Angeles retains its cultural diversity, its technological marvels have faded into legend. “Las Anclas” now resembles a Wild West frontier town… where the Sheriff possesses superhuman strength, the doctor can warp time to heal his patients, and the distant ruins of an ancient city bristle with deadly crystalline trees that take their jewel-like colors from the clothes of the people they killed.

Teenage prospector Ross Juarez’s best find ever — an ancient book he doesn’t know how to read — nearly costs him his life when a bounty hunter is set on him to kill him and steal the book. Ross barely makes it to Las Anclas, bringing with him a precious artifact, a power no one has ever had before, and a whole lot of trouble.

Amazon (paper)Amazon (Kindle)Barnes and NobleAppleKobo

A Cup of Smoke

A pair of bickering angels try to re-create Heaven in a Tokyo subway station…

A woman warrior matches swords and wits with a demon in mythic India…

These stories and more appear in this collection of short works by Rachel Manija Brown. The anthology contains six short stories, twenty poems, and a rodent zodiac.

It includes her Rhysling Award-winning poem “Nine Views of the Oracle” and her Rhysling nominee poem “Minotaur Noir.”

Two of the short stories and eleven of the poems are original to this collection. The other stories originally appeared in Steam-Powered: Lesbian Steampunk I, Strange Horizons, Andromeda Spaceways Magazine, and Cabinet des Fees. All the short stories have new afterwords by the author.

AmazonBarnes and NobleAppleKobo

All the Fishes Come Home to Roost

When she was seven, Rachel Manija Brown’s parents, post-60s hippies, uprooted her from her native California and moved to an ashram in a cobra-ridden, drought-stricken spot in India. Cavorting through these pages are some wonderfully eccentric characters: the ashram head, Meher Baba, best known as the guru to Pete Townshend of The Who; the librarian, who grunts and howls nightly outside Rachel’s window; a holy madman, who shuffles about collecting invisible objects; a middle-aged male virgin, who begs Rachel to critique his epic spiritual poems; and a delusional Russian who arrives at the ashram proclaiming he is Meher Baba reincarnated.

Astutely observed and laugh-out-loud funny, All the Fishes Come Home to Roost is an astonishing debut memoir—now available in paperback—and the arrival of a major new literary talent. The hardcover edition was named a Book Sense Pick and was selected as a Book of the Week by’s Book Club.

AmazonBarnes and NobleAppleKobo

Get Rachel’s Newsletter

Sign up for my newsletter and make sure you don't miss new releases, events, and appearances.